GO FISHING, use SLABSAUCE Fishing Attractant

Thread: '95 E36 convert questions

Default '95 E36 convert questions

My neighbor recently bought a '95 325iC and I have 3 questions, if anyone can help:
    1. This is the m50 engine, right? Double the valves of the m20 engine, and has spark plug coil packs, correct?
    2. Is there a tranny dipstick on the automatics, or is this one of the "lifetime" fluid trannys? If so, it apparently can be changed and what type of fluid is it?
    3. Is there a list of "what will break" on the E36's kinda like Bruno's site on the E34's?
    I'd like to give my neighbor some useful information about the E36's, and just interested in this for myself.
    TIA
    JonE

1. This is the m50 engine. Its very different then the m20 motor. Electronic ignition meaning coils over each spark plug.

2. There should be a tranny dipstick on the automatics. In terms of fluid, take a peek in the manual. I'm a 5 speed manual guy, so I have ZERO experience with the e36 auto tranny.

3. There really isn't a list of "what will break" on the E36's. I've had 2 E36's both with the same m52 motor. I currently have a 525 which has a m50 motor. If the motor sounds healthy, IE no chatter or clatter when running over 2k rpm, then you should be OK. The valves get worn out quickly, pretty quickly on the m50 motor. My wagon has clicking valves, so I don't beat on it. Other then that, DON'T use synthetic oil, get mobil HIGH MILIAGE oil which is a 10w40 I think... it works faboo! It won't burn a drop of that shyt!