PDA

View Full Version : coolant mixtures

liquidtiger720
12-02-2004, 01:18 AM
what kind of coolant mixtures are you guys using? im curious, as i will need to flush my coolant soon.

Tiger
12-02-2004, 08:45 AM
60% water/40% coolant

wengenstein
12-02-2004, 10:39 AM
I use 50/50 distilled water/coolant and a bottle of water wetter...

glen-sj
12-02-2004, 10:45 AM
what kind of coolant mixtures are you guys using? im curious, as i will need to flush my coolant soon.

I use a 50/50 mixture of BMW coolant and distill water.

glen-sj

632 Regal
12-02-2004, 01:21 PM
2 gallons of cool blue and distilled water for whatever would fit back in.

something about them damn driver side plugs.

CrimsonBrian
12-02-2004, 11:27 PM
OK, total noob question: We are supposed to dilute that coolant stuff? ARGH! I got the coolant message about six months ago and i just topped it off straight out of the BMW coolant bottle. Bad idea?

Tiger
12-02-2004, 11:43 PM
That's okay... you just upped the mixture... next time add water only.

liquidtiger720
12-03-2004, 01:53 AM
okay. is local autozone had 50/50 or coolant/antifreeze. is that what i want?

if not. then what kind of coolant to buy (brand) and where to get distilled water?
is water wetter a good idea too?

lesage
12-03-2004, 04:21 AM
I think Im right in saying that distilled water isnt the stuff to use. Its very aggressive, causing some elements in the metal to leech out over time.

It does the same in humans and is suspected of promoting osteoporosis amongst the health freaks that eschew normal 'mineral' water and drink distilled instead. A search around on the web a while back convinced me of this - as well as posts I made on this site which were confirmed

You should therefore use de-ionised water. To avoid your car breaking its little tibia or something...

Tiger
12-03-2004, 09:10 AM