PDA

View Full Version : Standalone ECU worth the cost?

Jos
11-17-2004, 10:32 AM
Hi all, I am new to the forums.

I have bought a 1985 e30 chassis and I am planning on fitting it with an M30B35 engine.

The mechanical aspect of the change doesn't really concern me very much, I have a knack of getting stuff to fit:) But.....

The electrical side does concern me somewhat, I have a Degree in in Electronic and Electrical Engineering, I also work as an domestic wiring electrican, but car electrics are more or less totally unknown to me. If I get an engine complete with ECU loom and ECU, how hard is it to put into the 318 chassis? I presume the only bit that would need changed is the connection to the fusebox (square plug on the M10 and round plug I think on the M30) and the rest of the wiring just goes to the senors on the engine. Is the plug on the e30 (M10) the same as the e28(m30) plug?

<snip> (Abandoned this idea)

Regarding transmission: which is the better manual gearbox, the Getrag 260 or the 265?

Thanks!

winfred
11-17-2004, 01:35 PM
theres several people that have put a m30 in a e30, theres a guy that should be about done with the install of one in a e30 wagon on the board, bmw did it in a south african model called 333i (i think)

bahnstormer
11-17-2004, 01:45 PM
yikes...what is the weight penalty for that kind of swap?
and mind you, the m30 isn't know for its power/liter =\

Jos
11-17-2004, 06:06 PM
60kg up from the M10 I belive. If you mount the engine back a bit and relocate the battery and a washer bottle to the boot you retain the weight distribution of the 325i apparently (from www.e30.de).

http://www.unixnerd.demon.co.uk/enumber.html shows the M10 that was in it at 82kg, the M20 at 117kg and the M30 at 143kg.