PDA

View Full Version : I give up.

Dan in NZ
10-18-2004, 08:23 PM
This outside temperature sensor has driven me mad. I did the obc retrofit many months ago, new obc and indicator switch went straight in. At the time I went to plug in the outside temp sensor, but the connector wasn't there, so I left it until recently. I studied the electrical troubleshooting manual, and located the wires for the sensor... The two wires are present at the obc connector, then according to the ETM, next stop is at the connector for the sensor itself.

I took out my foglight and the tow-hook cover, felt around a bit, and crawled under the car to look up. No connector. I removed the front bumper, still no wires to be seen. Traced as many wires as I could to their respective locations. No connector... Just now, I took out the plastic cover behind the headlights, and felt along the thick bunch of wires, tracing every branch of the loom to the lights, indicators, headlight adjustment motor, auxillary fan, coolant level sensor.... you get the drift. I've even taken out the indicator and looked into the gap, hoping to see a wire coiled up somewhere...

If the wires start at the obc connector.. where the hell to they end up!!!

So now I'm just going to splice a pair of wires into the harness at the obc, run them to the front bumper, and be done with it.

myles
10-18-2004, 08:55 PM
Im not sure at all, but I have a feeling that my obc temp sensor wiring goes through the same connector that the fog lights go through. The connector is a round one just behind the bumper, under the left headlights.

HTH

netmgr
10-18-2004, 09:00 PM