PDA

View Full Version : Which tires would you choose??

pdxbmw525i
09-29-2004, 02:15 AM
Hi fellow BMW owners,

I've got some new #58 Rondell wheels (17 inch) in my garage just itching for some new tires. I've been doing some cost comparisons on the internet and have decided on four different tires. I'll start with the cheaper ones and move up in cost. (I have no experience with any of these tires, my car has Michelin Pilots on them - good tire but cost more than I want to pay for new ones. Spent my money on the wheels instead.) First ones are the Kumho 712's, they seem o.k. for the price, Next are the Falken GRB-451 tires - these are the ones I'm leaning towards- look good, sporty, Third are the Nitto 555 tires - these were my first choice but after reading some of the comments on this website regarding these tires - they are probably my last choice now. And finally the Yokohamas AVS ES100 - these would max out my wheel and tire funds, but I know that these are quality tires...oh well.

I'll probably order my tires thru Americas Tires Direct (Online) since they have free shipping and better prices. The tire dealers in the Northwest don't have the tire sizes and brands that I'm interested in.

I was planning on buy 235-45-17's all around for my '93 525I, No mods done on it, but I am planning on putting in a performance chip after I get my wheels and tires installed.

I've noticed that some of you have wider rear tires than the front ones. I'm assuming that you probably have your BMW's tricked out for performance.
Should I buy wider rear tires instead of purchasing all four of the same size tires or should I not even worry about it, since I don't plan on modifying my car other than adding a chip.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated,

Thanks in advance,

Israel V.

Hector
09-29-2004, 09:05 AM
I have 17" ZIEX 512 and as I have harped on before, these tires were rated #1 by consumer reports issued last November.