PDA

View Full Version : Gas

BennyM
08-03-2004, 11:53 PM
I'm considering the idea that my routine fill ups at Holiday are at least a partial cause for my 525i's pinging. I recently heard a little about oxygenated fuels vs. non and it got me thinking. Someone in the local CCA chapter said that Holiday gas "is great for anti-knock but bad for
power" due to a high alcohol content. I liked Holiday gas cause it's that BluePlanet stuff that's supposedly better for the environment and it's also 93 octane. However, I am no expert and I was wondering if you guys knew any more about gasoline brands and what goes in them. What do you put in your tanks?

BennyM
08-04-2004, 01:39 PM
I'm considering the idea that my routine fill ups at Holiday are at least a partial cause for my 525i's pinging. I recently heard a little about oxygenated fuels vs. non and it got me thinking. Someone in the local CCA chapter said that Holiday gas "is great for anti-knock but bad for
power" due to a high alcohol content. I liked Holiday gas cause it's that BluePlanet stuff that's supposedly better for the environment and it's also 93 octane. However, I am no expert and I was wondering if you guys knew any more about gasoline brands and what goes in them. What do you put in your tanks?

ScottyWM
08-04-2004, 06:12 PM
I ran into a quality control woman at a refinery and we started talking about how I could tell where I bought my gas by the way it ran and sounded. She said that basically all gas is the same, it's the additives that f* it up.

I get 93 at the corner BP, my car pings - I get it at an old Exxon 5 miles away that is in the fuel oil business (the closer ones suck) and it runs like a champ.

Think most here will agree, you need to a) make sure your cars right (plugs, filters, no vacumn leaks) and b) find a gas your car likes.

George Davis
08-05-2004, 10:04 AM