PDA

View Full Version : E34 540i left auxiliary bracket gasket replacement.

samjvella
08-04-2016, 08:46 AM
Hey everyone!

So, I took my 1994 e34 540i to get an engine check up, and the mechanic pointed out an oil leak that I should fix. He said it was the left 'auxiliary' bracket gasket - I'm not sure if this is what it's actually called, however its the bracket on the left side of the m60b40 engine and the alternator bolts to it. The gasket between it and the block is leaking.

I'm not too confident in finding the part number for the gasket, or even a breakdown of the steps involved in fixing this, so I figured I'd ask you guys as you might know where to start.
This is my first time posting so please forgive me if this has already been asked - I'll take all the help I can get!

Cheers,
Samuel.

632 Regal
08-07-2016, 03:25 AM
Hi Sam,

Can you take a picture of the area where it's leaking? I would go out and check that area on my car but it's kinda dark now and think your leak might be traveling from another area.

samjvella
08-07-2016, 04:44 AM
Hi Sam,

Can you take a picture of the area where it's leaking? I would go out and check that area on my car but it's kinda dark now and think your leak might be traveling from another area.

Hey! Yeah I'll get under my car when I get the chance this week and see if I can get a good photo of it. Where do you suspect it might be leaking from?

Sam.

shogun
08-07-2016, 05:00 AM
Do you have the VIN of the car? Last 7 digits is enough, then we can check on www.realoem.com

mattyb
08-09-2016, 08:23 AM
so much going on at that side of the block. I have had 2 540's and the only egress of fluids issue I ever had was the power steering fluid reservoir and associated hoses etc. never seen engine oil. what colour is the oil / fluid?
welcome to the site by the way!!

samjvella
08-09-2016, 10:32 PM
Woah, thanks for getting interested guys!