PDA

View Full Version : Spark plug change (tips and pics)

Jazz_89
02-14-2016, 02:48 PM
Alright everyone, time for spark plug replacement on the 535i E34 (first time for me). I am not an expert, but a few tips and the pictures might be helpful.
Here are the tools you need:
The sockets are 21mm. Only use the correct spark plugs for the engine (Bosch W8LCR in this case). The garden hose is a good tool for this job ;) Required time: 2-4 hours depending on experience.

I heard that you should work only when the engine has completely cooled down and that you should not use anti-seize on the plugs, so I followed this advice.
The gap should be between 0.7mm and 0.8mm for these particular spark plugs, but it depends on the model I guess. Mine are Bosch W8LCR. It is probably a good idea to widen the gap a little bit, but I am not an expert on this. There is an extra tool for this job, but mine were approx. 0.7mm to 0.75mm wide so I did not change anything.

Start by removing the air filter cover and then the air filter box itself ( sorry that it looks so rusty and dusty :) ):

Unplug the HT-Leads one at a time. Try to pull them out from the base, as close to the engine block as possible. Make sure that the key is NOT in the ignition.
Here is the spark plug on cylinder #1:

Add some WD40 and then wait for a while for it to sink in. Carefully try to remove the plug with the spark plug tool (the one with the black handle). If it doesn't work try to tighten it a little bit and then try to loosen it again with small movements. I also had to use the torque wrench to remove a few of the plugs. Be very gentle in order to prevent cross-threading the spark. (actually I have the bad feeling that at cylinder #6 I almost cross-threaded the plug, because I could not tighten it correctly with the torque wrench :/ ). Try to listen for grinding or squealing sounds while you turn it out.