PDA

View Full Version : Electrical expertise needed please!!

e34.535i.sport
09-15-2012, 04:38 PM
Hi!! I'm in the process of fitting a boost gauge to my e39 530d in a similar fashion to this: my $50 boost gauge install - The Unofficial BMW M5 Messageboard (m5board.com) (http://www.m5board.com/vbulletin/e39-m5-e52-z8-discussion/143863-my-50-boost-gauge-install.html) . I have VERY little knowledge about electronics and try to avoid messing with it if possible but I'm stuck in the situation of what I can do with my fog light switch once it is replaced with the boost gauge (already in motion!!) ... If I leave the light switch off the car is leaving the lights on even without the kep in the ignition (I.e it thinks they're permentantly on).

The plan of action I'd like to take is remove the current large round switch and replace it with a smaller inconspicuous one and relocate it much like in that other thread. I hope this isn't a ridiculous question but how can I go about that? Do I have to splice connections? More importantly, the current switch has a weird set up - OFF, ON (front fogs), then a spring-loaded thrid position which puts the rear fogs on but it springs back to the ON position - Can I change this to a simple on/off switch without too much hassle? I've had the intake off this car and everything but the thought of messing with these little wires scares me!!

Please help!! :P

whiskychaser
09-16-2012, 10:18 AM