PDA

View Full Version : Keeping the 535, intake gasket job

rockin1978TA
02-15-2012, 11:05 PM
Well, I've decided to keep the old 89 535i, instead of shopping for another used car. I was trying to decided if it would be more economically to fix some of the needed repairs, or bight the bullet and buy someone elses car with who knows what problems could arise. Long story short, I just got a box of parts from BMA. New radiator, hoses, oil filter, thermostat, belts and intake gaskets. Any tips on the intake gaskets? I've been limping her along for about 2 years by sealing the leak at the #1 intake and head with permatex copper. What other parts should I look at replacing with the intake. I've seen injectors on ebay, but seems like different size or flow rates are available. Any tips on removal and installation is appreciated.

Tiger
02-16-2012, 12:01 AM
All easy job. Make sure you got a torque wrench for the intake job. Always torque everything on BMW.

Fuel injector... do not buy ebay injectors. I did that and destroyed my engine. How? The injector was stuck open and flooded my cylinder and hydrolocked the engine. Instead, I recommends you pull the injectors out and send it out for thorough rebuild and cleaning.

I got a Bentley E34 manual for sale if you want one.

rockin1978TA
02-16-2012, 12:57 AM