PDA

View Full Version : 6 speed super heavy clutch problem

Nic_S
09-23-2011, 04:08 AM
Hi guys

Even since I bought my SA Build E34 540i 6 speed, I was worried about the super heavy clutch. Eventually the pipe that goes to the salve cylinder exploded. So I figured I'll bite the bullet and replace the clutch as the old was slightly slipping anyway.

Clutch Kit Part No.: 21211223633

So I have a brand new clutch in there, but I have the exact same problems. The clutch pedal is ridiculously heavy, but the master cylinder and slave cylinder seems fine. It has a new slave cylinder for that matter. And because there were only 72 of these build here in SA, it's difficult for anyone to really know how it should be. It's not like I can just try out someone else's as I don't even know if there is another 6 speed anywhere near me.

I'm no expert at the inner workings, so I've spend the entire morning looking up on how the system works and came across an article on how to replace the clutch on a 3 series. Link: Pelican Technical Article: BMW Clutch Replacement (http://www.pelicanparts.com/bmw/techarticles/E36-Clutch_Replace/E36-Clutch_Replace.htm)

I know it's not exactly the same as my car, but can anything in the pick below cause my super heavy clutch problem? It doesn't seem like it to me, but like I said, I don't know much about all of it.
http://www.pelicanparts.com/bmw/techarticles/E36-Clutch_Replace/pica7.jpg

I'm scared the new pipe (Which I had have made up) will also explode. So any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Regards

Bill R.
09-23-2011, 11:11 AM
Its never going to be as light as a toyota or honda clutch pedal but when new the pedal effort is pretty good compared to a 55 chevy or any early american muscle car.
High pedal effort can be caused by a number of things, if you have a new clutch, I would check the pivot point on that throwout bearing arm as in the picture.