PDA

View Full Version : Modification help

BF00004
03-19-2011, 12:33 PM
Ok so I am new to BMW and after a month can see why so many people love the E34.

I bought mine a month ago. Its a New Zealand new and a very early HD12 2/89 with VIN of BF00004. Its a factory 535i with 5-speed manual with a few extras, LSD, sunroof, electric memory seats and mirrors, rear head rests, rear blind etc

Ok so I want to enhance the performance a little without changing the car.

I would like to chip it but not sure which one and how good the claims are. I have seen all sorts and all sorts of prices, can I ask whats a good performance one for a stock engine and possibly up the rev limit.

Next I am going to remove the cat and possibly go to just one muffler, is it best to keep the twin system or go to a single system and what size pipe/s to get maximum performance at 3500rpm+

I also have a road going 1970 Holden Torana which I developed with a 3.3litre inline 6 that is my fun car, its done a 12.9@106mph quartermile on street tires so I am not trying for ultimate performance from the 535 but want to improve it. I took it up to over 120mph and found it pulled good but felt it could do better.

One other question, my rev counter stops moving at around 4800rpm but the engine keeps going, it has had a speedo change could it be something simple?

Thanks.

Tiger
03-19-2011, 05:00 PM
MarkD chips are probably the best... you can see his post. He can free teh speed limit and rev limit. He has a sale going on now til end of March.

Exhaust... keep the twin system or go aftermarket like SuperSprint.

Paul in NZ
03-19-2011, 05:39 PM
Ok so I am new to BMW and after a month can see why so many people love the E34.

I bought mine a month ago. Its a New Zealand new and a very early HD12 2/89 with VIN of BF00004. Its a factory 535i with 5-speed manual with a few extras, LSD, sunroof, electric memory seats and mirrors, rear head rests, rear blind etc