PDA

View Full Version : Fuse 4 keeps blowing

E34-520iSE
06-28-2009, 09:50 AM
Hi guys - can anyone help with this one? Fuse 4 (7.5A) has decided to pop, regardless whether the lights are on or off. I have already checked the l/h front and rear lamp connectors, and even unplugged the light switch, in case there was a problem inside it. I studied the wiring diagram and can only assume that F4 is feeding something else, which isn't documented. The problem is somewhere between F4 itself and the light switch - are there any factory splices on that RT/GR feed?

Any help greatfully taken!

Shaun M

whiskychaser
06-28-2009, 10:09 AM
If you are looking at the Bentleys diagram its not too clear - it shows fuse 4 as only covering the left side of the car. (It also shows side markers which we dont have)
But under the list for fuse 4 it says it covers:
Side lights including the one under the bonnet
Lamp monitor
Power mirrors
Headlight washer (Canada) - doubt that applies;)
Central body electronics (ZKE)
Any chance an elec mirror button is stuck in?

E34-520iSE
06-28-2009, 10:25 AM
Hi Whiskychaser, Yes I checked the power mirror circuit and they are working 100%, even without fuse 4. Any ideas?

Regards,

Shaun m

whiskychaser
06-28-2009, 11:01 AM
Hi Whiskychaser, Yes I checked the power mirror circuit and they are working 100%, even without fuse 4. Any ideas?

Regards,

Shaun m
I'm guessing it doesnt blow the fuse straight away or you would have found the short? Sounds like the book isnt too much help. Tried turning the switches on in turn until it blows? ie turn on side lights, then hazards, then brake lights, fogs etc

E34-520iSE
06-28-2009, 11:12 AM
I'm guessing it doesnt blow the fuse straight away or you would have found the short? Sounds like the book isnt too much help. Tried turning the switches on in turn until it blows? ie turn on side lights, then hazards, then brake lights, fogs etc