PDA

View Full Version : OT: Lost my job, going on da welfare......

JD525IA
06-24-2009, 11:32 AM
Tomorrow is my last day of work at a semiconductor capital equipment manufacuring company I have worked at for over 13 years. Paid well and was fairly laid back. I had a corner window office with a great view and could do whatever I wanted. I was only a week away from my annual two week vacation, that kept me sane. The house will probably be gone by year's end. Three kids eat a lot.

That's all over now. I'm 42 and have to start over again. My background is in control systems engineering and my degree in Aerospace Engineering. Guess it's back to the defense contracting arena. Luckily, I have a lot of good contacts from those years.

It's getting ugly out there folks. The future is getting close to bleak. I hope I don't poop myself.

The E34 is paid for but the head gasket is on its way out. How hard is it to get one of these mutha's blazing?

Best of luck to you all..... I will look in on the forum from time to time.

JD

whiskychaser
06-24-2009, 12:06 PM
Been made redundant twice in my career. I vowed never to catch a bus and havent ridden one in 25 years. Lost a company that I developed a few years back and now drive trucks. I dont 'take work home' any more, my quality of life is better and I dont take myself so seriously. May even live longer.
Its a real kick in a sensitive place to lose your job but it can help you focus on whats important in your life. Wish you all the best mate

ScottyWM
06-24-2009, 02:36 PM