PDA

View Full Version : R-12 to R-134a conversion made simple.

aston_jag_tech
06-06-2009, 12:14 PM
Heres how I converted my 89 a/c system from r-12 to r-134a.

Evacuated R-12 and oil.
Added adapter fittings to R-12 lines.
Pulled system into a deep vacuum.
Added oil and r-134a to system(4.24lbs)
Ate a piece of pie while charging....
Blows cold baby!

I work in a shop so this costed merely $20. :p

Works F'ing Fine!

whiskychaser
06-06-2009, 12:34 PM
Heres how I converted my 89 a/c system from r-12 to r-134a.

Evacuated R-12 and oil.
Added adapter fittings to R-12 lines.
Pulled system into a deep vacuum.
Added oil and r-134a to system(4.24lbs)
Ate a piece of pie while charging....
Blows cold baby!

I work in a shop so this costed merely $20. :p

Works F'ing Fine!
Er... arent you supposed to at least change the receiver/dryer and pressure switch?:D Not to mention all the seals and the hoses. Mind you, at that price you can top it up every week

shogun
06-06-2009, 07:21 PM
I did the same 2 years ago with one of these 30-50 $ R12>R134a conversion kits, but also replaced the dryer and the pressure switch. Till now works fine, blows cold, never had to add / charge since then.

Tiger
06-06-2009, 07:46 PM
He's a mechanic... Reason for receiver dryer is to capture excess oil and any moisture in the system... but since you vacuum the system for 30 minutes... hardly if any moisture because it boils off under vacuum... so this part is practically 'optional' but is a good practice to change it.

As for the pressure sensor... yes, if there is one for the R134... lower pressure... is better but again... not really needed.

Rus
06-06-2009, 08:41 PM
From what I've read before, the reason for changing the dryer lies with the fact that R-12 and R-134 use different desiccants and to avoid introducing any contaminants from the old dryer into the newly recharged system. Hope it works out well for you :)

shogun
06-06-2009, 08:54 PM