PDA

View Full Version : rookie steering questions...

tim eh?
05-17-2009, 10:00 AM
Just about ready to tackle the front end (i think I can) and I have a couple of really dumb questions first- I've never done anything like this before. First I'll hit the steering column but I would like to also change the tie-rods and idler arm bushing, then maybe get the front shocks and mounts done at my favourite garage.

1- (really dumb) when it says to raise the front of the car in the bentley, can I just do it on ramps or do the front wheels have to be up?
ie it's just so you can get underneath?

2- ball joint puller - I should get one I think - any suggestions?

any other tips? I've been reading other threads I am such a newb. :D

whiskychaser
05-17-2009, 10:38 AM
Just about ready to tackle the front end (i think I can) and I have a couple of really dumb questions first- I've never done anything like this before. First I'll hit the steering column but I would like to also change the tie-rods and idler arm bushing, then maybe get the front shocks and mounts done at my favourite garage.

1- (really dumb) when it says to raise the front of the car in the bentley, can I just do it on ramps or do the front wheels have to be up?
ie it's just so you can get underneath?

2- ball joint puller - I should get one I think - any suggestions?

any other tips? I've been reading other threads I am such a newb. :D

If you are working on suspension you need the wheels off the ground. The wheels will be in your way anyway and you dont need the weight of the body on the springs and roll bar making life any more difficult
Suggest you get a ball joint splitter something like this:
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Laser-Ball-joint-splitter-scissor-type-0282_W0QQitemZ270390958694QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_Ca rsParts_Vehicles_CarParts_SM?hash=item270390958694&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1689%7C66%3A2%7C65%3A12%7C39%3A1%7C 240%3A1318%7C301%3A1%7C293%3A1%7C294%3A50