PDA

View Full Version : Passenger Sdie Aircon blowing hot air when select cold

dreman77
03-03-2009, 09:49 AM
Hi,

My passenger side aircon blows hot air even though the selector is at cold. I;m guessing its the temperature sensor. The question is how do I get to it and verify that it is the cause of the fault.

The airflow seems very low - will need to change microfilter. Does my model have a cabin air filter?

I also have the antifreeze smell in the cabin. I'm guessing heater core.

thanks

Tiger
03-03-2009, 10:32 AM
Heater valve is stuck. You need to loosen up the selenoid cover and tap repeatedly with hammer to loosen up the selenoid and then tighten the cover back down.

dreman77
03-03-2009, 06:06 PM
Heater valve is stuck. You need to loosen up the selenoid cover and tap repeatedly with hammer to loosen up the selenoid and then tighten the cover back down.

Hi Tiger,

thanks. which solenoid cover are we talking about and where is it. I am totally new to bimmers and do not have my bently manual yet.

thanks

Tiger
03-03-2009, 07:30 PM
On driver side by firewall... remove black plastic cover and you should see the heater hoses, etc.

bubba966
03-03-2009, 08:43 PM
On driver side by firewall... remove black plastic cover and you should see the heater hoses, etc.

Not all E34's have that cover on the solenoids. Mine didn't, nor did a friend's 525iT.

dreman77
03-04-2009, 07:26 AM
Not all E34's have that cover on the solenoids. Mine didn't, nor did a friend's 525iT.

There is a black box on both the lh and rh firewall. Mine is a rh drive. The one in front of the driver has 4 screws holding it down. Would it be that one?

Tiger
03-04-2009, 10:23 AM
Look up heater valve online and compare it to your car.

bubba966
03-04-2009, 04:41 PM
There is a black box on both the lh and rh firewall. Mine is a rh drive. The one in front of the driver has 4 screws holding it down. Would it be that one?