PDA

View Full Version : rear brakes not working

aquapool
03-02-2009, 02:25 PM
90 535ia
Have to say these cars have amazing brakes. Driven for quite some time and have never noticed my rear brakes are not working until I changed a flat the other day and noticed rotors are rusty. Go ahead crack the jokes.
So far All I have done is inspect for leaks. None found. Last night I bled out both lines and no air and fluid was clean. Fronts are fine w/no problems. Thought about frozen calipers but both just doesn't seem feasible. As a newbie I have searched archives and came up empty handed. Possibly a common problem? I was thinking could be in abs system?? Any help is appreciated.

whiskychaser
03-02-2009, 03:15 PM
90 535ia
Have to say these cars have amazing brakes. Driven for quite some time and have never noticed my rear brakes are not working until I changed a flat the other day and noticed rotors are rusty. Go ahead crack the jokes.
So far All I have done is inspect for leaks. None found. Last night I bled out both lines and no air and fluid was clean. Fronts are fine w/no problems. Thought about frozen calipers but both just doesn't seem feasible. As a newbie I have searched archives and came up empty handed. Possibly a common problem? I was thinking could be in abs system?? Any help is appreciated.

If you have the back wheels up off the ground, what happens if you try to turn the back wheels while pressing the brake pedal?

aquapool
03-02-2009, 03:47 PM
If you have the back wheels up off the ground, what happens if you try to turn the back wheels while pressing the brake pedal?

with it in neutral I could turn the wheel by hand while car running and someone holding down the brake. I only had the right rear off the ground.

russiankid
03-02-2009, 03:53 PM
Either the caliper piston is seized(unlikely) or the guides are seized.

aquapool
03-02-2009, 04:37 PM