PDA

View Full Version : Some more thoughts on headlights

BennyM
12-02-2008, 01:38 PM
There's been a lot of talk lately about headlight modifications and so I wanted to share some thoughts with you guys. I work with lighting and lenses a lot, but I am by no means an engineer, so feel free to prove me wrong.

Our cars were designed to run with 9006 bulbs for a reason. I suspect the opaque tip serves some specific and crucial function for directing the light rays to where they are supposed to go (the road) and away from where they aren't supposed to go (people's eyes).
I made this crude diagram to illustrate my hunch.
http://i63.photobucket.com/albums/h132/bennyboym/Picture1-4.png
This is based on my observations of how the light shoots out of the projector lens on our cars. (For those of you with out projectors, this doesn't really apply.) So if the tip is removed, I wonder if more of that light gets directed toward the wrong places. I probably have the reflector shape wrong and there may be another lens that I haven't accounted for, but I think the question is still valid. So, please, let me know your thoughts. All in all, I still plan to upgrade to HID as soon as I get the extra cash.

BennyM

BMWCCA1
12-02-2008, 02:59 PM
Well, for one, you don't show any influence of the ellipsoid lens on the light pattern. Your diagram implies the reflector is solely responsible for the direction of light. In other words, you've accounted for reflection but not refraction.

BMW4LIFE
12-02-2008, 11:17 PM
Well, for one, you don't show any influence of the ellipsoid lens on the light pattern. Your diagram implies the reflector is solely responsible for the direction of light. In other words, you've accounted for reflection but not refraction.

yea what he said..... ;):D

BennyM
12-03-2008, 01:50 AM