PDA

View Full Version : New member with a problem

ric5s
10-19-2008, 05:38 AM
Hi to all members,
Ric's the name and today I bought a BMW 91 5 (e34) series sedan
today which I was very happy about. Drove it onto the car trailer got home drove it off no worries. Drove it up my drive way and it died. :( Thinking fuel added 15 litres to the tank, no go, fuel to engine but will not fire up. Read the info on the net, still stumped??? Never owning a BMW before and always wanting one, I seam to have a problem on the spark or timing side of the motor. As a newbie my questions are.,
How can I find out what engine size/type it is? Engine number., 30567129???
Vin, WBAHB62030BC37163 any clues here???

Crank sensor and cam sensor, should I buy replacements to avoid chasing my tail?
Price limit on these items (au) before I get robbed?
Any help on my problem would be great.
Regards Shattered, Ric

bmwrp8
10-19-2008, 05:42 AM
sounds to me crank position sensor. also check your fuel pump.

shogun
10-19-2008, 07:13 AM
VIN BC37163
Vehicle code HB62
Series E34
Model 520i (520i M50) so you have a M50 engine, add these data to your profile and 90/1990
Body Type saloon
Catalog Model ECE (European version)
Production Date 09/2990
Engine M50
Transmission Automatic
Steering Right
Catalyzer Yes

Pic, before you buy expensive parts, ask a BMW dealer or a shop with a proper diagnosis tool to run a diagnosis. Especially in Australia the prices are very high for parts. Many people therefore buy from the U.S. such as (I buy from there) www.autohausaz.com
or BMA
Is your drive way on a hill or something? Refill more fuel. Might be not enough as the bottom of the fuel tank is not even. Check the fuel coming from the fuel hose in the engine room. Might be a long time stored car and fuel could be mixed with condensated water in the tank. Water is heavier and sinks to the bottom of the tank.

Bo525i
10-19-2008, 09:36 AM
Production Date 09/2990