PDA

View Full Version : 5 series touring - van conversion!

alastairwatt
05-28-2008, 08:02 AM
im new to the e34, im a big e30 fanatic, but i required something larger than the e30 touring so hence me plumping for the e34, to accomodate my gear and more often or not i sleep in the car when go munro climbing in scotland so i can get up and away at first light without the need to pitch tents and camping in sometimes horrendus weather,id rather be inside my bm!! the cars been great not one bit of problem in all the miles and decidily dodgy roads ive taken it on.

the e34 is my second car and prodominantly used for outdoor pursuits i plan to keep it for a while as its got a very low milage for its age,i was going to keep the car as is but im now thinking of stripping out the rear seats, door linings etc, then frame and plywood sheet the full rear area to give the maximum load space, building storage into the existing now redundant foot well area, look at housing a secondary leisure battery, the rear windows are already limo privacy tinted, its got the double sunroof, its not the hilton but would serve my needs for both storage and somewhere to lay a bed roll out, anyone seen of this done done before or did something similar?

regards ally

1995 - 520 touring uk manual.

RallyD
05-28-2008, 10:17 AM
why not just get one of these

http://www.spiderenterprises.com/files/RedneckCamper.jpg

http://www.joe-ks.com/archives_jun2007/MobileHome.jpg

Jon K
05-28-2008, 10:20 AM
w...t...f

alastairwatt
05-28-2008, 02:16 PM
ha ha would do the job, by the way its not my residence!! they way petrol and road tax prices are going here im sure we will see one or 2 on the roads here.

attack eagle
05-28-2008, 04:22 PM
IT already has the maximum load space... there si no room to be gained by removing the sidepanels or anything else you have mentioned.

bubba966
05-28-2008, 04:49 PM