PDA

View Full Version : Brake, tail, number plate and dip light warning won't go away

Reidal
05-25-2004, 10:53 PM
Hi All

New boy on the block. I have been through the forum but can not find any additional info so here goes hoping someone can help.

1993 E34 530i RHD 191k km's. Warning display for Brake, tail, number plate and dip light comes on when I switch on the head lights and won't go away until I switch the lights off then turn ignition off (short delay before the warnings shut down). No warning during the day (lights off of course).

I have read the info re the LKM and as an experienced electronics tech I can confirm I have re soldered all the relays (4 relay LKM) and LKM connector joints. I have also re soldered a number of through board holes and components (using hot air gun).

Absolutely no change. Problem persists. All the lights work correctly at all times.

Does anyone have any idea's?

winfred
05-25-2004, 11:25 PM
theres a good chance the check control module (ccm) is dieing, on usa cars it's next to the lkm in the fuse box, someone here on the forum figured out how to test and repair them

Reidal
05-26-2004, 01:00 AM
Thanks for the help Winfred.

I have searched for and found the CCM information and will give it a look tonight.

I'll confirm how thing go.

Phil Sanderson
05-26-2004, 01:17 AM
Check the wiring on the left trunk lid hinge arm for broken and touching wires

black_bird_blue
05-27-2004, 02:14 PM
I had a very similar problem to this - it was the headlight levelling motor seized up. I only found it because I had the lights on and engine not running and walked around the front of the car, I could hear the motor grinding away at some length. To diagnose the problem, I just unplugged the motor (near the bulb backs) and the problems went away.

Your mileage may vary, of course.

I recently replaced the motor and all has remained fine.

Damian

Reidal
05-28-2004, 12:35 AM
All good input thanks guys.