PDA

View Full Version : doors lock automatically?

DDK's 525
04-08-2008, 11:28 AM
I am new to BMW's and have a 90' 525. The doors have started to lock on there own after 20 or so seconds (i haven't timed it). It did not do this until yesterday at the gas station with the keys in the ignition:( . Is there a way to turn this on and off or is there another issue going on?

Thanks! Daryl

whiskychaser
04-08-2008, 12:04 PM
I am new to BMW's and have a 90' 525. The doors have started to lock on there own after 20 or so seconds (i haven't timed it). It did not do this until yesterday at the gas station with the keys in the ignition:( . Is there a way to turn this on and off or is there another issue going on?

Thanks! Daryl
That could be a bit of a problem if you were outside putting the fuel in. I dont see this as a feature anybody would want so your problem must lie elsewhere. I dont think you have a remote so could it be an iffy driver's door lock actuator?

DDK's 525
04-08-2008, 01:34 PM
That could be a bit of a problem if you were outside putting the fuel in. I dont see this as a feature anybody would want so your problem must lie elsewhere. I dont think you have a remote so could it be an iffy driver's door lock actuator?

I do have a remote. I dont think it would be an actuator as it seems to do it after a set time of closing the door. I will time it and see how long the delay is.

**edit**
The doors lock after 30 secconds. they did not do this before yesterday.

shogun
04-08-2008, 11:40 PM
That is not standard. Do you have an after market locking/remote/alarm system installed?

DDK's 525
04-09-2008, 12:24 AM
That is not standard. Do you have an after market locking/remote/alarm system installed?