PDA

View Full Version : Is this a diamond in the rough? or???

rcbrown23
03-24-2008, 05:24 PM
just a pretty good deal?

First off... I'm a newb, and don't know what the hell I'm doing. I stumbled into a 94 540i with full intentions of fixing it to sell it. Well, after driving it a tad, I LOVE the car, and am looking for one with less miles/overall better condition.

Just got back from looking at a 1995 540i.

Here's the good part, I think:

6 speed manual transmission. 95K miles. SPORT seats.

what does all this mean? there's no sign of a "M" emblem anywhere, and it has the standard wheels (same as my 94 540). Is this a "sport", or regular 540i?

The price is CRAZY reasonable, and it started and drove perfectly.

Waiting for your answers, and possible going back tomorrow.

Thanks mates.

BMWCCA1
03-24-2008, 05:27 PM
All 6-speed E34 540i's were Sports and came standard with sport seats. The owner probably didn't like the wheels and he or the dealer swapped them along the way. The M-sport is a different option package entirely and was even available in an automatic.

pgrindstaff
03-24-2008, 05:30 PM
It is most likely a regular 540i with some of the sport options. When I bought my 540i6 I did a lot of reading to figure out exactly what is different between the sports and just a run of the mill 540i. As you noticed it does have the standard wheels, sport seats, and has the M-Tech suspension. The 540i Sport has other goodies such as M-style side mirrors etc. From my experience, you will not be disappointed by the 540i six speed. What an amazing car.

billy
03-24-2008, 05:39 PM
doesnt the sport have a black headliner?

rcbrown23
03-24-2008, 05:42 PM
Ok... thanks so far. I'm looking online to try and see what these are going for, but not having much luck.

What would it be worth? like I said: 95K miles, not sure if it's Nikasil or Alusil, but it idled VERY smoothly. Black exterior, 6-speed manual, overall condition I would rate a 7 out of 10.

ProZak
03-24-2008, 06:09 PM