PDA

View Full Version : Bad news :(

Jon K
03-20-2008, 08:41 PM
I was laid off today. Not looking for sympathy or anything, but it's pretty depressing. I was given an extremely good review in the fall and looked forward to a decent career at the location, but found out today I was laid off. Its nothing more than slightly depressing to be considered one of the harder workers in our small IT department while having your job retracted. So, yeah, finishing this car may be set on hold somewhat. It couldn't have come at a worse time.

If anyone in the SE PA, Western NJ area knows of any IT positions open, I am looking. I have filed unemployment and sent out resumes within 3 hrs of finding out, so I hope something comes my way. I hold a degree in Management of Information Technology and almost 9 months in a Gov't contract IT desktop/systems/network administration type position. Thanks for the positive words in advance.

Paul in NZ
03-20-2008, 10:02 PM
you have abundant skills and talents from what I have seen Jon.Its faintly disturbing isnt it.I work in the construction industry which has fairly regular cycles....I was made redundant once....the reason for me was my most comparable counterpart had a family and I didnt...so it doesnt necessarily reflect on your skills etc.

bmwpower
03-21-2008, 12:57 AM
Did they give a reason?

Macv
03-21-2008, 02:52 AM
Aw man, that really hurts. A little patience and you'll spring back just fine. Was it one of those outsourcing deals?

Good luck my man!

Jon K
03-21-2008, 03:13 AM