PDA

View Full Version : 535i Overheat - Runs like sewing machine - help

Konica
02-27-2008, 09:07 PM
Hey guys, I had my 535i overheat last week, I was driving out of the bank parking lot last week, it was about 6 degrees above 0, warm for this time of year where I live, and I noticed my temp gauge, just out of the corner of my eye, was in the RED. I have no idea how long it was sitting on the RED - but I would say not long as I would have probably noticed it otherwise. As I pulled out, BANG, smoke, and a hissing noise. The radiator hose going from the top of the rad, the big fat one, had a 4 inch long, break in it. About a litre of rad fluid on the road and around the engine comp.

* I have been driving this vehicle for about 5 months now, and put several thousand clicks on it, mostly in below zero temperatures, with no overheating problems, ever.

They spent several hours today bleeding the car, topped off the fluid, and replaced the hoses. It passed the pressure leak test.

I picked up the car, and it runs like ****. I mean, it ran fairly shitty before in that the engine was a bit loud, but now, the engine sounds like an industrial sewing machine on over-drive as opposed to a regular sewing machine. The engine takes it's time to start up - not any worse than before - but it's probably worth mentioning. It takes about 4-6 seconds to start the engine. Battery is fine.

The noise is tick tick tick, but fast, coming from the front of the engine, and as I get progressively closer to the back of the engine, it's quieter...the noise seems to becoming from the area near the water pump?

There is also a similar tick tick noise coming from the exhaust. Actually, now that I think about it, sometimes when I accelerate, my exhuast makes this horrible noise. Cat is broke?