PDA

View Full Version : Need to remove the BMW Roundell, any ideas?

leicesterboy15
02-13-2008, 04:19 AM
My badge seems to have let in water so I've bought a new one but how do I get the old one off without damaging the paint? Will a small screwdriver with some cloth protecting the paint while exercising the exact opposite of Ferretrage TM do it? :p

I'm not good with patience, or fiddly things, is there a more scientific method?

Omega
02-13-2008, 05:09 AM
There are three prongs locating the badge in three rubber grommets. A cloth protected thin screwdriver or padded hacksaw blade will suffice to pop it off. As it were... :D

If it's letting in water I suspect the grommets are either buggered or missing.

[edited for typos] Typing with broken fingers plays hell with your keyboard skillz.

Brandon J
02-13-2008, 08:33 AM
a plastic car body filler spreader will do it
Plastic is always good. I have used the pesky plastic packaging on everything electronic nowadays. You know the ones that are thick and are a pain to get open, they are nice and sturdy. I cut one to shape to get underneath the Roundel to lift the Roundel up slightly. Then I used a small screw driver with a shop rag to protect the paint. This technique allows the Roundel to be re-used as the plastic packaging does not ruin the badge.

Good Luck.

nizmainiac
02-13-2008, 09:14 AM
a plastic car body filler spreader will do it

Brandon J
02-13-2008, 09:14 PM
This is what the dealer recommends doing. Just without the screw driver. I pulled up straight and with a firm pull it came right out with no paint damage.

A buddy of mine, that I went to UTI with, is a tech at a BMW dealer. He said he uses the plastic body panel remover. Some roundels are easy enough to pull straight up; the 6 I have done were harder. Whatever technique works, I think there are enough here if people need to do a search later.

Atl530i
02-13-2008, 11:42 PM