PDA

View Full Version : E34 pulls to left

gma
05-19-2004, 12:45 PM
Hi, all -

Newbie here with a question.

My 92 525i / E34 pulls to the left.

It has been through several different wheel / tire combinations and problem has persisted very consistantly, so that's not the problem.

I'm neurotic about my tire pressure, so that's not it.

I do my own brakes (correctly and thoroughly) and the problem has even persisted through a brake change. There is no excessive drag on the left side, and there's no pulsation through the pedal or wheel when on the brakes, so that's not the problem.

The bearing rotates freely and without wobble. It behaves and compares equally to the right side bearing, so i doubt that's it.

I've had the car laser and string aligned three times throughout the course of the problem and the problem still persists. currently, my caster is 5.9 L and 6.0 R - not enough to cause the problem, I think. These measurements came from string last week. The rear end is straight, the camber and toe are ok, so I don't think it's anything in the chassis.

The car's never been hit, so that's not it.

I just unloaded both barrels on a set of Privat Fahrens and Dunlop SP Sport 9000's. With the being rears wider than the fronts, i know i can't rotate the tires. i'd like to maximize their life as much as possible and would also like to get rid of the annoyance of havign to carry the wheel 7 degrees to the right all the time to keep from drifting into oncoming traffic.

any suggestions?

thx,

gma

TimGinCentralNJ
05-19-2004, 01:06 PM
...in that I've been trying to track down the cause of a slight toe-in issue up front on my 5'er, I'm learning about all kinds of things which may **not necessarily** show up on even the best of a laser-alignments: Is it possible anything up front might be bent slightly? A front spindle, a control arm, etc? How old are your various bushings up front?