PDA

View Full Version : 535im vs. 525ia

Herb
10-07-2007, 12:00 AM
Before everyone starts off with "5spd all the way, slush boxes suck", I have a 5spd for the 525ia in my garage.:)

What I know about the 535im: Rebuilt top end, Bronzit, 190k, no other info at this point (int.,50-60mph shakes,windows...etc.), 208hp/225tq @ 4000/5000rpm respectively, 15/25 city highway. Maintenance: Valve timing every 30k, cap/rotor/wires, other than that I have no idea, I have only owned m/s5x's.

The 525ia: New paint, perfect trans, good motor, chipped, 155k, no electrical gremlins at all, AC is perfect, has the 50-60mph shakes, needs heater core, seats are torn, passes emissions every time, 189hp/181tq @ 4700/5700rpm respectively, 17/27 city highway. Maintenance: Simple stupid. Cam chain.

Admittedly I have little knowledge of the m30 motor, and an s52 is a distant plan for the 525ia. I have not mentioned my suspension because although the 535im has Voxx 17s (meh... not bad, but not my general cup of tea, 5's, T-stars, Mpars.) and will come with a new suspension up-grade kit of no name; I would transfer my HR w/Billies and 740i rims.

Please comment and make points for and against or just in general, all comments welcome.
Thanks Herbert.

Paul in NZ
10-07-2007, 04:27 AM
there is a LOOOOONG thread somewhere about the merits of 525 vs 535..it titled why do american like 535.....or something.The most pertinent number is the torque and the revs pertaining to the torque.The 535 feels much gruntier off the lne and in the mid range3-4 but it is an old engine.Is a 92 the m50 engine?or even better m50 tu?.THe mileage numbers in real life for the 535 prolly isnt as good,IMHO the worst feature of the M30.Went for a drive today in a 2002 530,wish the 535 had that engine with a slick 5 speed!

e34.535i.sport
10-07-2007, 04:52 AM