PDA

View Full Version : OT: Has anyone ever built a fireplace?

leicesterboy15
10-05-2007, 06:44 AM
I know its well OT but thought I'd give it a go! We have ripped out our old 1930's fireplace (no gas pipes disturbed!) and are left with a big hole that goes all the way to the floor. What I plan to do is level the base off with concrete and build a face wall with bricks so it essentially becomes a hole in the wall about 1.5 feet above the floor. I was going to fill the gap behind the new bricks with breeze blocks so eventually it becomes a solid surface. While its being built I will feed a gas pipe through the structure so I can get a fire installed later (the pipe will be disconnected both sides initially).

The only problem is I have never built a wall before so wanted some tips on what mix to use for the mortar for the base, bricks and breeze blocks. Are there any special considerations for the mortar due to the heat such as using this type of stuff:

http://www.thecastironfireplacecompany.co.uk/products/ProductDetail.asp?CatId=80&Id=523

I will get the whole thing plastered up professionally which will be the outer layer so if the plaster is going over the top does the mortar for the underlying structure make any difference? Any other tips before I embark? Thanks!

Ferret
10-05-2007, 07:41 AM
You have to be careful with mortar, but only usually when exposed to direct heat... An enclosed gas fire vents warm air up the flue, but an open gas fire will heat up the mortar directly above it.

Ever throw stones into a bbq as a kid, then nearly get your head blown off when they exploded?

Kinda the same **** really.

whiskychaser
10-05-2007, 07:54 AM