PDA

View Full Version : Soon to be owner with a bunch of questions

Dragunov
08-03-2007, 05:05 PM
Hey there fellow BMW lovers, Dragunov from Hungary here!

I'm a student. I fell in love with E34's a long time ago, and I'll soon be in the position to finally buy one. There's no problem with that, and i understand if they are maintained well they're like tanks. But i also heard maintenance is very expensive, as well as fuel, i heard she eats 12 litres on 100 kilometers.

So my first question is, that if i buy a continuously maintained 525i or a 540i in the $5000 price range, am i going to have a lot of problems with it?
I'm not anywhere near the wealthy category, but i estimate i'll be able to put aside about $250-350 each month when i get a job, and i'm willing to spend it all on the car if i have to. So is that going to be enough to keep her satisfied?

My second question is related to the actual purchase.

What are the E34's common problems i should look out for when looking for a car, in addition to the obvious stuff like checking electronics, rust and such?

This would be all for now, but i'm sure i'll pop up with more questions later. Sorry about my english, i hope you can still understand me

Thanks for replies in advance.

2fast
08-03-2007, 05:30 PM
Hi there and welcome.
Check out this site and read it all its a good place to start.
http://www.bmwe34.net/e34main/trouble/what_will_break.htm

This should answer most of your questions.

Dragunov
08-03-2007, 05:55 PM
Thanks, that site helped a lot! It also raised another question: How do i know if the engine's nikasil or alusil?

Qube
08-03-2007, 06:54 PM
Soon to be 540i or 525i
540.[/B

But i also heard maintenance is very expensive
[B]No.

as well as fuel, i heard she eats 12 litres on 100 kilometers.
Yes.

So my first question is, that if i buy a continuously maintained 525i or a 540i in the $5000 price range, am i going to have a lot of problems with it?
No.