PDA

View Full Version : Oxidized paint. Pics inside.

rcbrown23
07-28-2007, 03:19 PM
Finally getting around to putting the beemer together (picked it up with a bit of front end damage for $500)

The paint is pretty badly oxidized. What are my options here? I'm a newb when it comes to this stuff, by the way.

Should I take it in and have it "cut and polished"? where would I take it? how much would that cost? I'm in Ft. Worth, tx, by the way.

I just picked up a claybar, and some sort of "oxidation removing" wax. It won't hurt anything to try this myself, will it?

The front door is the good paint (as you can tell), and the rest looks pretty bad. It's dirty, but you get the idea:

http://i50.photobucket.com/albums/f321/rcbrown23/DSC02759.jpg
http://i50.photobucket.com/albums/f321/rcbrown23/DSC02758.jpg

http://i50.photobucket.com/albums/f321/rcbrown23/DSC02756.jpg

E34-520iSE
07-28-2007, 03:34 PM
He he looks a bit like my car bro - more pink than red lol!

Is that really a 540?

Cheers,

Shaun M

Macv
07-28-2007, 04:01 PM
You won't hurt anything doing it yourself. Just do a little research first to get a grasp of how to "cut and polish." Practice on lower parts and you'll do fine.

As long as you don't jump right into it, because you CAN damage what's left of the paint.

markus
07-28-2007, 04:10 PM
check out 1z or einseztt whatever its called. they have a writeup on a VW golf, red like yours, and their polishes made it look like new. It was oxidized to hell also.

rcbrown23
07-28-2007, 05:53 PM
Hmmm... check out what??

is that a website I'm looking for? another forum member? a company?

I'd like to check it out...

EDIT: found it, thanks I'm reading it now...

http://www.1z-usa.com/vw_scirocco.html

EDIT #2: Ordered it.

markus
07-28-2007, 11:16 PM
let us know how it goes.

winfred
07-28-2007, 11:39 PM