PDA

View Full Version : Air Filters

///Sniper535
07-01-2007, 04:11 PM
How many do you guys use after market filters? Is it worth switching to them or stick with stock?

Tiger
07-01-2007, 04:24 PM
I use Hengst, Mann and now Meyle for engine air filter. Cabin filter, I am using my last one that I had but will be using whatever is available... no need for factory filter. You just have to change them yearly or every other year if you want to see the black stuff.

ThoreauHD
07-01-2007, 04:28 PM
Best bang and longer lasting option are the Mann/Meyle OE filters. Unless you are drag racing with a supercharger, you aren't gonna see more HP unless you do a MAF conversion or the like. Although alot of folks do use those oil and clean air filters, it's not worth it overall. That's my opinion. And I'm not a mechanic, so take it with a grain of salt. But from what I've read, it don't do **** with a standard setup besides waste your time.

Barney Paull-Edwards
07-01-2007, 04:36 PM
K & N was the only filter that I tested which ,while not decreasing power like a lot of others,flowed as well as new when partially clogged.Some green fancy looking thing actually lost me 8hp, and all the rest tested gained no power and clogged with ease.Standard Mann filter did well but the intake tube proved very restrictive. The best result was an oven moulded tube from above intercooler to standard box with K & N panel in it,nominal power gain untill big cooling fan turned on, then 14hp.Forget flash, go simple.

pingu
07-01-2007, 04:43 PM
I use OEM - I tried an air filter from Halfords (a British car parts supplier - but they mainly supply own brand rather than OEM) and the Halfords air filter had fewer pleats, and hence less surface area, compared to the OEM filter.

The extra money on OEM seems well worth it to me.

Ferret
07-01-2007, 04:51 PM