PDA

View Full Version : Lower Rocker Panel Rust

Derek A.
06-23-2007, 01:12 PM
I noticed that the driver's side lower rocker is soft. There is a huge rust bubble behind that rubber coating. What is the preferred method of repair? Is there s set of M5 Side skirts in my future ?

John B.
06-23-2007, 06:53 PM
Any rot in the sill/rocker area needs to be repaired not covered up. Heat & scrape off the coating, cut out the rot & weld in new metal.

nirvana19
06-23-2007, 09:48 PM
I have a similar issue, near all the jacking points and the right front fender (lower part). Put some POR-15 on it as a temporary solution but I to have yet to explore my options. Rust terrifies me so I'm probably going to get to a body shop soon, I recommend you do the same. I have no idea how much it will cost, I weld myself and know that it wouldn't really be that much work to do, but I'm not experienced enough to do the work myself. I have no idea how much a shop will charge, does anyone have some insight into that?

Derek A.
06-23-2007, 10:51 PM
My thoughts were to maybe do a rust removal/repair. Not worry to much about the cosmetics and look at a set of m5/95 e34 side skirts.

nirvana19
07-23-2008, 02:23 PM
I just revisited this issue, I've basically cured the problem on the driver side with some blasting, cutting, and por-15. I'm going to reinforce the jacking points on that side also (they don't need it but just in case), been monitoring it for a while with no rust. The passenger side however is hopeless, just took it to a body shop and got an estimate for 1600 to replace the rocker panel. The inner rocker is fine (as of now) but to protect it I need to do something about the other. Any advice?

BTW I have a lot (a LOT) of welding experience working with sculpture but no more studio and tools. If someone tells me exactly what to cut and weld to spec I might be able to find a place to do the work and save myself the labor.