PDA

View Full Version : Spark Plug job on 540

Jehu
05-23-2007, 08:31 AM
I bought Bosch coppers and a set a of valve cover gaskets expecting to change my plugs. Do these plugs require setting the gap and should I also buy new valve cover bolt washers or do these rarely show up bad? Also is it a must to use a Torque wrench and apply a certain force when tightening the new plugs or should a half a turn from snug or so be sufficient.

Tiger
05-23-2007, 08:42 AM
Plugs are already gapped... Tightening is usual 1/4 turn from snug or so.

Torque wrench on the valve cover gasket... yes. The small 3/8" torque wrench. Never the 1/2" one.

Alexlind123
05-23-2007, 08:58 AM
Yea, the valve cover torques are really touchy. You will want to use a good quality 3/8'' whrench and be careful. A little too tight or loose can easily case a leak. As for the plugs, im not a master mechanic, but i used a torque wrench with a spark plug socket just to be safe.

Jehu
05-23-2007, 09:09 AM
Thanks , what about the cover bolt washer/grommets? Smart to buy a set just to be safe I'd imagine weather any are decayed or i lose one. Would it be unwise to do this outdoors? I understand you should only do the plugs on an Aluminum block when its cool so ideally I'd like to do this where its parked but i'm under trees and there's pollen and all kinds of crap floating around I'd be concerned I'd miss something falling in there and end up with a problem.

Ross
05-23-2007, 09:14 AM
Cool motor and anti- sieze on the threads.

BigKriss
05-23-2007, 09:15 AM
you really used a torque wrench on the spark plugs. I just put some anti-seize past on the plugs and forget about them. I mean how hard can you really put them in untill you know they are tight. Same with the valve cover nuts, i never used a torque wrench on them, then again I only have a 1/2" driver version.