PDA

View Full Version : Disc rubbing - wheel not turning freely?

e34.535i.sport
05-01-2007, 03:42 PM
Hi, found a bit of a problem when i removed my wheels to paint the calipers recently. :(

It seems that my drivers side front wheel is not turning freely. When the car was jacked up i tried to turn the wheel and it turns freely for about half a turn, and then is noticably stiffer for the other half. There was also a rubbing sound as i did it. I had a good look and the brake pad looked very close to the disc but i haven't really got much experience with brakes etc so im at a loss. I'm new to car home maintenance!

If anyone knows what my problem is that would be a great help, and if you can give me an idea of how to fix it or expected cost it would be most appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

rob101
05-01-2007, 03:44 PM
Hi, found a bit of a problem when i removed my wheels to paint the calipers recently. :(

It seems that my drivers side front wheel is not turning freely. When the car was jacked up i tried to turn the wheel and it turns freely for about half a turn, and then is noticably stiffer for the other half. There was also a rubbing sound as i did it. I had a good look and the brake pad looked very close to the disc but i haven't really got much experience with brakes etc so im at a loss. I'm new to car home maintenance!

If anyone knows what my problem is that would be a great help, and if you can give me an idea of how to fix it or expected cost it would be most appreciated.

Thanks in advance!
thats normal, unless you have had an incident where the brakes were smoking like a chimney after driving around don't worry about it.

DaveVoorhis
05-01-2007, 03:51 PM
If you can turn the hub by hand through the stiffer bit, it's okay.

rob101
05-01-2007, 03:56 PM