PDA

View Full Version : Toasted

gtopaul
04-25-2007, 06:35 PM
Thought you all would like a pic of this one that got dropped off at the shop last week. 02 E46.

Paul L

http://members.aol.com/paul3130/private/engine002.jpg

ThoreauHD
04-25-2007, 06:51 PM
If I was a mechanic, I would probably not be able to restrain myself with the customer. I'd just have to...

http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y106/toasty0z/powned.jpg

Macv
04-25-2007, 07:02 PM
How?

gtopaul
04-25-2007, 07:09 PM
How?

We suspect he never changed the oil although customer said it had regular oil changes at a quickie lube place. We have a $3000 used replacement engine sitting on the shop floor ready to swap out.

Paul L

632 Regal
04-25-2007, 07:31 PM
I think Bill R or who is Winfred said that happens with synthetic too, I cant see synthetic doing it in my mind though.

We suspect he never changed the oil although customer said it had regular oil changes at a quickie lube place. We have a $3000 used replacement engine sitting on the shop floor ready to swap out.

Paul L

KenB
04-25-2007, 07:32 PM
Regular oil changes, eh? Don't think so...how many miles on that piece of scrap? Did any oil come out of it or did you scoop it out?

What a lousy way to try to save a couple of dollars.

I just did a valve cover gasket on mine at 190,000 miles and it was spotless. I was amazed at how clean it was. Using Mobil 1 since 120,000.

Jehu
04-25-2007, 07:41 PM
Regular oil changes, eh? Don't think so...how many miles on that piece of scrap? Did any oil come out of it or did you scoop it out?

What a lousy way to try to save a couple of dollars.

I just did a valve cover gasket on mine at 190,000 miles and it was spotless. I was amazed at how clean it was. Using Mobil 1 since 120,000.