PDA

View Full Version : M50 oil pan gasket replacement check list

bissellh
04-13-2007, 02:11 PM
I have to replace my leaking 92 525i E34 M50 oil pan gasket. I have never done this before and I am trying to make sure I do it right and check known problems while I am at it.

1. raise car
2. drian oil and remove oil filter
3. unbolt dip stick tube and remove
4. unbolt oil pan gasket and drop it down to cross member
5. unbolt ad remove oil pickup tube.
6. remove old gasket
7. clean contact surfaces between engine block and oil pan
8. smear bottom of gasket with RTV silicone and place on oil pan
9. smear top of gasket with RTV silicone and allow to dry for 15 minutes
10. place oil pan in place and bolt it down
... after 24 hours for the rtv silicone to dry ...
11. replace oil filter
12. fill with oil

I should replace the pick up tube and dip stick tube gaskets.
I should check that oil pump bolts are securely in place. If not, remove them, clean them and replace them with some thread lock.

Shoud I also replace the upper oil pan gasket while I am in there? What is this anyway? Is it an gasket for the oil pump?

yaofeng
04-13-2007, 02:18 PM
No RTV. You will be getting a rubber coated metal gasket. it should be installed dry. The oil dipstick tube has a o-ring as I recall. You may want to also replace the oil level sender o-ring.

What is the upper gasket?

bissellh
04-13-2007, 02:26 PM
No RTV. You will be getting a rubber coated metal gasket. it should be installed dry. The oil dipstick tube has a o-ring as I recall. You may want to also replace the oil level sender o-ring.

I will be replacing the oil level sender gasket since I have to replace a faulty oil lelvel sender too.

I just inspected the Elring oil pan gasket I orderered from Bavarian. It is not cork or metal. It is made of a paper material. Do you think it is good to use RTV silicone with this gasket?

I read about an upper oil pan gasket in another thread. I am trying to figure out what it is.

Dave M