PDA

View Full Version : 535i/735i(e32) M30 complete overhaul questions.

Makaveli2k
03-27-2007, 08:52 PM
I've been reading the bentley manual for the complete overhaul. I think I'm just going to look into diassembling the fascia panels and pulling the engine and tranny straight out(backward towards me) I was just wondering because this is my first time overhauling an engine and tranny. As long as I follow the bentley I should be fine? Also is there any special tools that is needed in order to make this all work smoothly?
For example is there any special sockets I should be looking into before I get down to business?

Also just to make sure what kind of sockets are we looking at. It would be really helpful if somebody could list them and to what part they would be mated with.
LMK
-Dan

Jeff N.
03-29-2007, 12:16 AM
What are you trying to do? Pull the engine and tranny?

Bentley is fine for instructions.

Special tools? Umm, hmm. Well, depends what cha already got in the kit mate! Here's a couple that you might wanna look into

- star drive sockets for the tranny to bellhousing bolts.
- you'll need something an angle torque gauge for the head bolts
- a 32 mm bike wrench is the shizzle for removing the fan clutch
- a 32..hmm...or is that 36 mm socket for the crank nut (have fun - 325 ft/lbs)
- clutch alignment tool + hex drive sockets for the pressure plate
- for your engine hoist, get a tipper - very helpful. Not sure what you're saying about how you want to pull it out but you'll need a hoist for sure.

Yuppers. This ought to get you started. Have fun.

bill g
03-29-2007, 02:58 AM
Yep - 36mm socket for crank nut.

Bill G

Dave M
03-29-2007, 04:43 AM
Sounds like an in-depth project. Two things: