PDA

View Full Version : OT: What do you do?

indierthanthou
03-25-2007, 03:48 PM
Hey guys and gals, I'm looking for some help. I am an apprentice plumber and I no longer enjoy working in the trade and would like to start a different career. I understand that I need to go back to college, what I am doing is looking for ideas for a career I would be good at, so if you guys could help me out, tell me what you do, etc I would greatly appreciate it. Military service is NOT an option for personal reasons.

Herb
03-25-2007, 04:23 PM
Go Army... JK. I became an X-ray tech through the Army, on the civilan side it will take about 2yrs, but you will get paid the second year as a student tech (in most places). I work two sixteens on the weekend only (fulltime student durring the week), support a family of four (myself included).
Herb

Macv
03-25-2007, 06:29 PM
I clean carpets.

But it's just a summer job as I'm a senior in highschool. So I guess it doesn't count.

dennyg
03-25-2007, 07:04 PM
I'm a printer but I don't recommend it for anyone young because of technology. One thing I would like to learn and think there is a future in it is wrapping cars. You must be good artist and computer software person also be skilled in placing the film on the cars. It is kind of printing related. Its also a way of working on cars....There is also the old fashioned way.....Marry a rich girl lol

indierthanthou
03-25-2007, 07:24 PM
My girl is near the end of her second year at wayne state, shes going to be a high school music director. so she aint gonna be rich...lol, but shes doin what she loves

indierthanthou
03-25-2007, 07:26 PM
That's not a bad idea. I'm leaning towards being a paramedic, but I know their hours suck and they dont get paid that great considering what they do. What does an xray tech do?

indierthanthou
03-25-2007, 07:27 PM
I know someone who owns a carpet cleaning business...maybe I can see if he could use some help. In michigan there isnt squat for work.

rickm