PDA

View Full Version : SOT: how do airbags work

rob101
02-19-2007, 05:19 PM
I've just read a post on another forum about airbags not deploying in the car and the subsequent discussion of how people think they work, and there is alot of misinformation out there about it.

I was under the impression that there were only accelerometers, speed, roll over angle sensors and maybe yaw speed sensors involved. I have heard people talk about things like impact sensors that sense increases in pressure in the cabin but as an engineer my gut feeling says thats a load of BS. As i thought the main way they sensed an impact was from the rapid deceleration of the car (through accelerometers) would anyone care to shed light on the subject that is in the know?

t.wak
02-19-2007, 07:50 PM
I'm also on Eurocca, and was looking forward to finding out for good, too.

t.wak
02-19-2007, 07:52 PM
http://auto.howstuffworks.com/airbag1.htm

Accelerometres is all they mention here, makes sense.

LunatiC
02-19-2007, 08:04 PM
I think you are right Rob. I vaguely remember a Wheels magazine article on how airbags work when airbags first came to cars that were sold in Australia.

Accelerometers and a bunch of other sensors would trigger the airbag to propel. Pressure sensors is a load of BS, I don't see airbags being deployed whenever you open or close your doors ;)

When all else fails, consult Wikipedia's article on Airbag triggering conditions (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Airbag#Triggering_conditions) :D

Eurocca is full of BS anyway, but you already knew that :P

rob101
02-19-2007, 08:27 PM
Eurocca is full of BS anyway, but you already knew that :P
remember dude, whatever you do don't change your lifetime oil. If you do you will be cursed forever muhahahahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa.
~strokes his money bags in the back of his 330ci.
(private joke between myself and Luny if you're freaked out)

rob101
02-19-2007, 08:37 PM