PDA

View Full Version : WTF happened to my rear shocks!? (photo included)

DanDombrowski
02-18-2007, 08:14 PM
So as part of my rear end rebuild, I'm swapping out the rear shocks with some bilstein tourings. I finally got to pulling the shocks today, and found this:

http://i107.photobucket.com/albums/m286/ddombrowski/DSCN2180.jpg

WTH? I've never done a suspension before, so I'm going to take a guess and say that those are the bumpstops? Anyone ever see deterioration like that before? If its normal, oh well, I'll order some new ones.

I was hoping to put the suspension put together today, but I've gotten a little held up with other parts of the swap. Here ar e a few more shots of the install just for kicks.

http://i107.photobucket.com/albums/m286/ddombrowski/DSCN2178.jpg
http://i107.photobucket.com/albums/m286/ddombrowski/DSCN2179.jpg

cybereclipse
02-18-2007, 08:25 PM
wtf happened to that thing!!!

Dave M
02-18-2007, 08:28 PM
Those were bumpstops ;) 14 years worth of pounding. Add some leaking fluid here and there, and voila, carnage.

Yes, those are pretty chewed, but I'll wager some have lost the entire things.

Suspension is pretty fun and rewarding, have a good time........

Oh, do you have new ones?

Dave

DanDombrowski
02-18-2007, 08:51 PM
Yeah, I figured it was about that. So far its been, well, just plain difficult, hopefully it will be fun and rewarding when I get the thing put back together. Right now, I'm feeling a little overwhelmed at how much I've taken apart and the disastrous consequences if I can't get it back together.

No, I don't have new bumpstops yet, I havent ordered them. I plan on ordering new bump stops and spring pads tomorrow along with a slew of other things that I've destroyed in taking the rear end apart.

I figure that the spring pads are still in okay shape, but since they're not very rubbery (feel mostly plastic now), I figure the ride quality has room for improvement if I put some fresh rubber in there also.