PDA

View Full Version : UK e34 accident damage to susp, advice for newbie and also a 96 Touring

cooljules
01-24-2007, 12:04 AM
Hi everyone

Never posted here and im quite new to BMW's...

For many years i had old Celicas, 70's, like GT's (liftback, baby mustang etc)

I love RWD cars, never had nothing differant, wouldnt..

Anyway i had to drive to Germany last autumn, and i looked on ebay and saw a black 520i a 92-170,000 miles. I knew nothing of BMW's but i loved its drive. I read what i could, i changed the plastic impeller, belts etc as a couple of weeks i had it it went into the red...after that it seemed fine. Then a couple of weeks before my planned trip around Europe, i was slowing down coming down a dual carrage way when it suddenly pulled to the left and threw me into the kerb (it just understeered and i tried to power it out, almost got away with a spin)

Anyway the front susp was bent, but the mounting points to the chassic are fine, the metal bars took the impact

Ok now i had to go back on to ebay, and i came accross a 265,000 red 96 touring auto 525i (never had a auto either) i asked the seller would the car be good for a 4k trip, he said he just had it come in as a part trade in, but with fsh...ok the car was great on the trip, into Poland etc never missed a beat

So i have had the cars for about 5 months now, i love the BMW's, i must admit i love the extra bhp and torqu with the 525 over the 520, at the time no one told me make sure i got a 2.5 block rather than a 2 litre, like i said i know nothing about em. I paid 600 quid for each off ebay.

Anyway i have to live in Germany for 6 months a year soon, and no matter how nice to drive the touring is, it just doesnt cut the mustard in the looks dept or handling (well before the accident anyway!!) So i really want my black 520i on the road.

I have some pics, hope you guys can offer advice and let me know what you think to the cars

my black car just after i bought her