PDA

View Full Version : Oh Nooooooo... Please! Not the Crusher?

pawswish
11-11-2006, 11:07 AM
Ok... so I finally figured how this thread thing works. I'm new to this and came across bimmer.info through the excellent e34 article in the latest Roundel. I'm hoping someone out there can save my 1989 535i from the crusher.... HELP!!!

Prior to the issue with the blown radiator hose, even with 300,000 miles (all long run stuff) she ran like the day she left the factory. Now there are coolant issues... maybe a blown head gasket or warped head. If I de- pressurize the system I can drive just fine, but I'm too old to be messing with this stuff... and I know all about the bleeding challenges. With black on black, interior is perfect with no leather rips or tears, seats work fine including heaters (no funky seatback issues) new gas strut inserts and gas shocks 5K miles ago, perfect gearbox although a tad stiff in cold weather due to Redline oil, limited slip diff. What doesn't work? A/C, speedometer... that's about it. Light timing chain noise but that's to be expected at this mileage and some light rust.
I'm in southeast Wisconsin and will be donating the car to the Boy's Ranch if there are no takers, probably in a week or two. I think it's worth $500. Any takers? make me an offer I can't refuse. Please... she doesn't deserve to die this soon.

Thanks.

Pawswish

angrypancake
11-11-2006, 11:10 AM
so what are the coolant issues? is it overheating or somethign? could it be air in the lines screwing things up?

are you getting the classic white smoke from the exhaust?

BillionPa
11-11-2006, 12:58 PM
O_O

hold on to that till i consult with an associate.

im in the twin cities, and if he wants it we wil probably drive there to tow it.

pawswish
11-11-2006, 03:53 PM
so what are the coolant issues? is it overheating or somethign? could it be air in the lines screwing things up?

are you getting the classic white smoke from the exhaust?