PDA

View Full Version : I can't taste my beer!

DoctorZaius
11-04-2006, 10:13 PM
THat's what the characters would exclaim in horror in those humorous TV commercials.

Noob here. Bought my 1st BMW last week, 1995 530i, black/black, ~100K, no mods. I love the car. Liked the more luxury feel/look of the 5s over the 3s, and understood it'd be less "sporty" and make less noise.

Still, I'd like a bit more sound. I can't really hear my car untill I hit 4000 RPM. I can't taste my beer!

I've read the posts here on exhausts till my eyes are red, and I'm still learning. From my notes someone summed it up (here or on another site): "I'm looking for something like a deep, low, mellow, bassy growl....trying to stay away from the open, barking, sharp, farty sound...."

That pretty much sums it up. Oh, that, and I'm only interested in a moderate decibel increase as I'm no longer a young punk (But, man I sure wish I still was, however LOL).

I'm not interested in a straight Resonator delete, as I'm convinced (for my taste in tone/resonance) SOME sort of resonator/dampener (even if it's an X-pipe) is necessary prior to the muffler. I realize there are LOTS of resonator deletes in the forums; it's just not for me. I think we BMW drivers may be nearly as picky in the sound of our car as it's color.

If I'm missing the 'obvious' choice for a 530i...please let me know. I'm pretty much overwhelmed by the different flavors, and pretty bummed out there aren't more sound clips on the net for 530i exhaust upgrades. (dang, seems 90% of the BMW clips are for M3s or the 540i).

Yiorgos
11-04-2006, 10:39 PM
Got cash?

Remus make pretty good exhausts, are pretty expensive though. I think they come from Austria.

This clip is a 525i. I would assume that if you were to install a similar system in your 530i, it would most probably sound just as good, if not better.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XYEs43NmHg0

SC David
11-04-2006, 11:16 PM
Punch a hole in your exhaust.

angrypancake