PDA

View Full Version : Bled cooling system but still no interior heat....

MO525
04-14-2004, 10:25 PM
I just replaced the water pump, radiator, hoses, thermostat, cast alum. therm. housing and COMPLETELY drained the system (including the block plug), refilled with BMW coolant/distilled water 50/50.

Question is...I have put in 9.5 quarts now, the engine temp. is rock-steady, bled the system (at least I guess I did) but I still have no heat on the interior?
I never did get the "bubbles and wait for the steady coolant to come out" that the Bentley says about the bleeder.

Yes, this is my first time....if feel dumb as hell here but I'm really drawing a blank.

I'm assuming there must still be an air pocket in there.....probably the heater core area?

Thanks for any input/help.

winfred
04-14-2004, 10:36 PM
once you get the thermostat to open it's blead, as for no heat most likely a dead aux pump, it's under the valves and easy to test just hook it to 12 volts and it runs. no pump no coolent flow through the core, path of least resistance and all

Anton CH.
04-14-2004, 11:42 PM
Check my thread on passenger heat. Bill R shows a great way to test aux water pump.

MO525
04-15-2004, 07:10 AM
Check my thread on passenger heat. Bill R shows a great way to test aux water pump.

And it's dead-on perfect on the "cold" line.

I will most certainly check the aux. pump.....better start reading on that one, not sure what it is, exactly. :)

Do I need to re-bleed after replacing/repairing the aux. pump?

I'll check that thread immediately.

Thanks!

ryan roopnarine
04-15-2004, 07:26 AM