PDA

View Full Version : How do I take out the coolant sensor?

tazman
10-27-2006, 03:44 PM
Hi, I got a 1991 525i. I am getting low coolant signal when I turn the car on and also when I turn it off. But as soon as I start driving it goes away and does not come back till I turn the car off. I am guessing that may be the magnet or float in the sensor is sticky. I would like to take it out the sensor and clean and see whether I can make it work. Is there an easy way to take the coolant sensor out? I am not good with plumbing. Do I need to take the rad out for this? Is there a way to pop the coolant reservoir or take the sensor out from under the car? If I do take the sensor out does that mean I have to go through the whole process of bleeding the coolant and so on? Just would like to know what’s involved before I get into this. thnx

Blitzkrieg Bob
10-27-2006, 03:54 PM
the terminal and plug.

may just be some corrosion and dirt.

uberkarldrei
10-27-2006, 04:20 PM
Left front side of car, follow the radiator cap down to the bottom of the expansion tank and you will find a plug with a couple wires. that is the sensor. it is mounted upside down from all the previous years models. yes you will have to drain to remove. all the parts are plastic so if you do be careful with the wrench and don't crack stuff. pull up REALOEM on the web for pictures. for the Kludge method of getting rid of the alarm and visually checking your coolant periodicly, pull the plug that goes into the sensor and bridge the two contacts with a piece of wire. this is not the prefered but you can get your display back on the LED. sorry I don't have any spares to sell as I usually just live with the broken stuff untill I get the parts

Paul in NZ
10-27-2006, 04:31 PM