PDA

View Full Version : impossible bad luck - 1991 535i auto.

M Malaviya
09-29-2006, 01:24 PM
Hey guys,

The Alpine stereo stopped working, checked the fuse in the engine bay - no problem; so checked for voltage on the red & yellow wires on the back of the stereo. Red wire has feed, yellow wire no feed. Checked the fuses under the back seat, number 38 (I think 30A) was cooked. Changed that and put everything back together. Now the car will not start, no spark at the coil. I admit to being a complete novice at electrics, so would very much appreciate any helpful hints on what to do next. Quite scared that I'll do more harm, without guidance, so apologies in advance if the gurus here think there is not enough information provided.

cheers,

Mal.

Felixdacat
09-29-2006, 06:10 PM
I think the yellow wire is the ignition wire. This will get a 12v feed when the ignition is turned on. If you blew a fuse, check all the wires behind the knee panel below your steering wheel. You may have a shorted wire. If no wires are shorted, maybe a bad ignition?

Good luck, Felix

M Malaviya
09-30-2006, 04:49 AM
Felix - thanks for your input.

BTW a little more info. The PO (6 years ago) had told me that the alarm needed to be disconnected because the siren had caused problems. I do not have key-less entry, and have never considered getting the alarm fixed.

I am at present looking at the mess of wires under the back seat, and found a wire in a block connector attached to a slimline alarm module (?) that has obviously been shorted. When I disconnected the block-connector, the hazards blinked for about 10 seconds, adds to more confusion.

I am in the very very slow process of tracing the shorted wire backwards through one of the wiring looms - what a pain! At present, cannot really decide which is more of a pain - the wife nagging why it is taking so long, or the seemingly over-engineered car!!