PDA

View Full Version : Any E39 gurus out there?

valvesprung
09-20-2006, 11:11 AM
My recent puchase of a '99 528 has left me grinning for days on end.

Unfortunately, it has begun to quickly and intermitently stumble @ idle. It only drops 50-100 rpm, so it's no big deal except that it shouldn't be happening. I removed the air box to take a look at everything and found that the problem stopped without it. When I blew slightly into the MAF and the car died, an odd thing for it to do. I worry that the MAF may be getting weak, but even though I am a technician, I am unfamiliar with BMWs. I removed the restrictor tube from the opening of the air box and the problem has gotten better, but not subsided.

Any great words of advice?

Chip
09-20-2006, 11:45 AM
we have replaced the MAF on my wife's 97 528, then a year or so later replaced the idle regulating valve-
I will say that these cars have no shortage of electrical systems-
sometimes on the wife's car I'll take it to the stealer so they can diagnose the problem, then I fix it-

good luck

My recent puchase of a '99 528 has left me grinning for days on end.

Unfortunately, it has begun to quickly and intermitently stumble @ idle. It only drops 50-100 rpm, so it's no big deal except that it shouldn't be happening. I removed the air box to take a look at everything and found that the problem stopped without it. When I blew slightly into the MAF and the car died, an odd thing for it to do. I worry that the MAF may be getting weak, but even though I am a technician, I am unfamiliar with BMWs. I removed the restrictor tube from the opening of the air box and the problem has gotten better, but not subsided.

Any great words of advice?

valvesprung
09-20-2006, 12:10 PM
I work @ a Volvo dealer, so I have connections to the local BMW dealer, but what might I expect for parts prices?

winfred
09-20-2006, 12:11 PM