PDA

View Full Version : What else should I do when fixing a cracked head?

landon
09-17-2006, 12:05 PM
My 1993 525iT has a cracked head that's getting fixed. But I figured I'd ask if there's anything else I should look at/replace/upgrade while I have it apart.

I'm still pretty new to bimmers, but I'm learning! Thanks everyone for all the info already here - this forum's great!

-Landon

Jay 535i
09-17-2006, 12:11 PM
First, get him to the dentist, cuz that stuff is a dental nightmare.

Then get him some counselling, cuz that stuff'll mess your brain.

Oh, wait, you said cracked head.

SnakeyesTx
09-17-2006, 01:19 PM
Lucky you! We don't have any machine shops here in town willing to CNC out the cracked area and weld in new material. Anyone wanting to start a shop down here, you'd probably corner the market :D

landon
09-18-2006, 12:07 PM
Lucky you! We don't have any machine shops here in town willing to CNC out the cracked area and weld in new material. Anyone wanting to start a shop down here, you'd probably corner the market :D

The heads not getting machined - no one will do that (or recommends it at least) up here in Seattle either. I'm getting a rebuilt one instead.

SnakeyesTx
09-18-2006, 09:04 PM
I'd REALLY like to know what shop the guys that wrote the how-to article on doing the headgasket replacement took their cracked head to for CNC and rewelding. The after pics of the fix looked immaculate.

genphreak
09-19-2006, 02:34 AM